Thank you Iceland

Following last week’s article praising the beauty of this song, I have to say that I feel deep gladness after learning that Ég á líf  won the Söngvakeppnin 2013 last night becoming thus the Icelandic entry for the Eurovision Song Contest 2013 in Malmö.

It really struck me right from the first listening and this article I wrote last week is actually all the more interesting that I haven’t found since then a single song that made me want to award another 5/5, and this even with all the songs that came out not only from Denmark last week but also in what was quite a busy national selections this week end, involving no less than 5 countries at different stages of their own selection process.

And believe it or not, I think the funniest/most curious in all this praising probably is the fact that I have listened to this song only once (!) since I happen to be, unlike too many people, a real music lover who will rather spend ages to listen to lots of things he won’t especially like before finding a diamond rather than destroying the most beautiful pieces by listening to them endlessly.

So congratulations to you Eyþór Ingi Gunnlaugsson and no matter how you do in Malmö, you already are a winner.

 

 

Leave a Reply

