Eurovision Song Contest 2013: The latest news

As the weeks go by towards the end of 2012 more and more news about next year’s contest are being given and this week made not exception to that.

From the latest we thus got this week;

Estonia revealed its completed line-up for its national contest, the 2013 Eesti Laul will be made of the following;

  • Tenfold Rabbit – Balance of water & stone (Andres Kõpper, Meelik Samel, Martin Petermann)
  • Facelift Deer – Dance (Rasmus Rändvee, Paal Piller, Karl Kallas)
  • Elina Born – Enough (Stig Rästa, Fred Krieger)
  • Birgit Õigemeel – Et uus saaks alguse (Mihkel Mattisen, Silvia Soro)
  • Rosanna Lints – Follow me (Rolf Roosalu, Kristel Aaslaid, Mattias Hapsal)
  • Neogeen – Lune surnoise (Raido Lilleberg, Kalle Raudmets, Mare Sabolotny)
  • Marie Vaigla – Maybe (Raul Vaigla, Marie Vaigla)
  • Winny Puhh – Meiecundimees uks korsakov läks eile lätti (Silver Lepaste, Indrek Vaheoja)
  • Põhja-Tallinn – Meil on aega veel (Jaanus Saks, Mark Eric Kammiste, Alvar-Risto Vürst)
  • Tauri – Miljoni roosiga kaardi sul saadan (Peeter Kaljuste, Marek Sadam)
  • Flank – Missing light (Tõnn Tobreluts, Tauno Tamm, Keio Münti)
  • Marilyn Jurman – Moving to mmm (Marilyn Jurman, Karl Kanter)
  • Grete Paia – Päästke noored hinged (Grete Paia, Sven Lõhmus)
  • Teele & Tuuli & Ula – Ring the alarm (Priit Uustulnd, Teele Viira)
  • Kõrsikud – Suuda oelda ei (Andrus Albrecht, Alari Piispea, Lauri Liivak, Jaan Pehk)
  • Sarah – Taevas valgeks läeb (Sirli Hiius, Mathura)
  • Anisa Vänikver – The missing thing (Alar Kotkas, Pearu Paulus, Ilmar Laisaar, Jana Hallas)
  • Liis Lemsalu – Uhhuu (Rene Puura, Liis Lemsalu)
  • Liisi Koikson & Söörömöö – Üle vee (Immi)
  • Rolf Roosalu – With u (Rolf Roosalu)

Many returns have been noticed among the names cited. The group Põhja-Tallinn has submitted a song which has been very popular and present in the Estonian charts for weeks.

Following the selection process used for Baku, Spain has decided once again to send an establish artist to Malmo with a song that will be chosen live on TVE during a special show, which date has not been announced. Echoes say that it’s very likely to be a man this year after Pastora Soler to fly the Spanish flag in the contest.

Bosnia & Herzegovina announced its withdrawal of the contest, like Portugal and Slovakia for financial reasons. This Balkan country has never won the contest, in 20 years of participation.

Following this announcement the Turkish Radio and Television Corporation (TRT) let people know through an article on its official website that Turkey country wouldn’t be going to Malmo either, not stating financial reasons, but a disagreement with the new recently put in place.

In a more positive note, the first finalist taking part in Lithuania’s national final on LRT next week have also been announced.

  1. Gerai Gerai & Miss Sheep – War in the wardrobe
  2. Ieva & Gabrielius – I fall in love
  3. Božolė – Happy and free
  4. Andrius Pojavis – Something

This weekend is likely to be as busy as the week was in announcements; firstable with the last semi-final in Lithuania featuring the following:

  1. Beissoul & Gabrielė Griciūtė – Beautiful Life (Raigardas Tautkus, Raimondas J.Nabus, Beissoul, Gabrielė Griciūtė)
  2. Monika – Baby Boy (Dmitrij Šavrov)
  3. Sophie – Make It Happen (Eglė Sabaliauskaitė, Einius Jarutis)
  4. Linas Adomaitis – I W 2night (Linas Adomaitis, Bjorn Hansen)
  5. Girmantė Vaitkutė – Time to Shine (Vytautas Bikus,.Girmantė Vaitkutė)
  6. Gintarė Korsakaitė – Dreaming (Raigardas Tautkus, Jokūbas Daubaris, Gabrielė Griciūtė, Raimondas J.Nabus)
  7. El Fuego – Ledo Gabalėlis Laura Remeikienė)
  8. Giedrė Smolskaitė – Stay Awake Tonight (Raigardas Tautkus, Gabrielė Griciūtė)
  9. Dar – Jump (Arvydas Martinėnas, Gorgi)

The same number of songs appear in what’s gonna surely be the main event of that Saturday; the Swiss national final, in which people will get to choose who is going to succeed to Sinplus among these :

  1. Ally – Catch me
  2. Chiara Dubey – Bella sera
  3. Carrousel – J’avais rendez-vous
  4. Anthony Bighead – Do the monkey
  5. Heilsarmee – You and me
  6. Nill Klemm – On my way
  7. Melissa – The point of no return
  8. Nicolas Fraissinet – Lève-toi
  9. Jesse Ritch – Forever & a day


And finally Belgium through the RTBF and radio VivaCité, will become the 3rd country to choose its entry for Malmo, on Sunday morning where Roberto Bellarossa will get to sing :

  • Be heroes
  • Reste toi
  • Love kills

Making the line-up of songs the Belgian public will have the possibility to vote for.

Interesting enough ; this is how the song selections for 2013 are happening so far…


Last week : 1 : Belarus

This week : 2 : Switzerland and Belgim

Next week : 3 : Lithuania, Albania, Ukraine (since not a change from them has been noted despite the lack of news)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s